Diljeet Brar

NDP candidate in the Burrows Winnipeg race.

Diljeet can be reached on social media, at diljeet.brar@mbndp.ca, or by calling 431-688-3772.

News that mentions this candidate is listed at the bottom of the page.

Our candidate data retrieval process is available in our FAQ.

News that mentions Diljeet Brar

Showing news articles published after June 1st 2019. Article summaries are selected randomly from the mentioned candidates. Our news gathering process is explained in our FAQ.

More women, more people of colour but fewer Indigenous MLAs in Manitoba legislature

September 12, 2019

CBC Manitoba - ...Pas-Kameesak). For the PCs, Filipino MLA Jon Reyes was re-elected in Waverley (previously the St. Norbert riding). The election of NDP candidates Diljeet Brar (Burrows) and Mintu Sandhu (The Maples) means there will be two Indo-Canadians at the legislative assembly, compared to one in 2016. The Liberals...

Meet the 13 rookie MLAs elected in Manitoba

September 11, 2019

CTV - ...feminism and is an ally with Indigenous people, newcomers and LGBTQ people. She grew up in Thompson, where she is now raising a family. Burrows: Diljeet Brar (NDP) Diljeet Brar is joining the NDP’s slate of rookies after being elected MLA for the Burrows riding. Before immigrating to Canada, Brar...

Après le 10 septembre, une assemblée plus diversifiée | Élections Manitoba 2019

September 11, 2019

Ici Radio Canada / CBC Francais - ...pouvoir s’exprimer en français. Le NPD a fait élire le groupe d’élus le plus diversifié de son histoire. Il compte ainsi 2 Indo-Canadiens (Diljeet Brar dans Burrows et Mintu Sandhu dans The Maples), une députée de la commnauté philippine (Malaya Marcelino dans Notre Dame) et 5 Autochtones (Wab...

NDP makes gains but city still wears PC blue

September 11, 2019

Winnipeg Free Press - ...out Karen Myshkowsky of the NDP. She unsuccessfully ran against Kinew in 2016. Elsewhere, the NDP regained control of Burrows with a victory by Diljeet Brar, and party mainstays Nahanni Fontaine (St. Johns), Bernadette Smith (Point Douglas) and Matt Wiebe (Concordia) continued to hold court. JENNIFER...

Meet the rookies: Manitobans elect 13 new MLAs

September 11, 2019

CBC Manitoba - ...for MP Candice Bergen (Portage-Lisgar). Guenter also worked for Morden-Winkler MLA Cameron Friesen, who was re-elected on Tuesday. Burrows: Diljeet Brar (NDP) Dijeet Brar celebrates his victory after taking the Burrows riding for the NDP. (CBC) Rookie MLA Dijeet Brar won in Burrows for the NDP. ...

Manitoba NDP makes gains in Winnipeg as PCs win 2nd majority, CBC News projects

September 10, 2019

CBC Manitoba - ...evening. "We have made history tonight." Bruske also said St. James is projected to swing back to the NDP after being lost to the PCs in 2016. Diljeet Brar is the projected winner in Burrows, a seat previously held by the Manitoba Liberals. The Opposition NDP went into the 2019 election with 12 seats...

Too many signs and no incumbents: A look at 2 of the most diverse ridings in Manitoba

September 9, 2019

CBC Manitoba - ... "They clearly have good lists for getting out the vote and good lists to find out who is supporting who." Liberal candidate Sarb Gill (Burrows). Diljeet Brar, who is running in Burrows for the NDP, may luck out because of the recent boundary changes. The recent changes, put parts of Shaughnessy Heights...

Manitoba First or Forward? Ex-radio host, former Philippines honorary counsul seek seats for smaller parties

September 8, 2019

CBC Manitoba - ...the constituency [and find out if] what they need is not what we want," said the retired nurse, who is running in Burrows. She faces NDP candidate Diljeet Brar, the PCs' Jasmine Brar and Sarb Gill of the Liberals. Edda Pangilinan encourages voters to give Manitoba Forward a chance: Edda Pangilinan says...

10 ridings to watch in the Manitoba provincial election

August 28, 2019

CBC Manitoba - ...in Burrows. The seat had been NDP since 1981, except for two years when it swung Liberal during the 1988 Sharon Carstairs surge. Who is running? Diljeet Brar (NDP), Jasmine Brar (PC), Sarb Gill (Liberal), Edda Pangilinan (Manitoba Forward Party). Why is it in play? The riding is one of the most diverse...

Manitoba Electoral Riding: Burrows

August 14, 2019

Global News - ...created by redistribution in 1957. The NDP, and before that the CCF, have won the riding all but three times since its creation. Candidates NDP: Diljeetpal Brar Green Party: Liberal Party: Sarbjit Singh Gill PC Party: Jasmine...